Yarn

Yarn Storage

How do you store your yarn? I have a large tote, a big cardboard box, and 2 little cardboard boxes. I keep my yarn in ziplock bags in those boxes, but it’s all just thrown in there together.

Recently I decided to organize it better. Anything that was a full skein or more got separated. Partial skeins I sorted by fiber content and/or weight. I also set aside all my handspun into one of the little cardboard boxes.

It was better organized, but I know myself. And I know that the next time I finish a project, I wouldn’t want to remove the little boxes, take off the lid to the tote, dig around until I find the right plastic bag, and put the leftover yarn in the tight place.

So I took some vases out from my closet and washed them, and put the small partial balls of leftover yarn in them. With that out of the way, I was able to put nearly all of the full balls of yarn in the tote, and the bigger partial balls in the big cardboard box. The handspun is in one of the small cardboard boxes, and the other small box has some wool for needle felting and a bag of waste yarn.

I think I’ll be better apt to keep my yarn organized this way, plus it looks nice in the vases.

One thought on “Yarn Storage

  1. I love how it looks in the vases! Mine is mostly in boxes but I use glass jars for little scraps. The mini balls of wool the scraps make are super cute 😊

Leave a comment