Christmas · Designs · sewing

Felted Sweater Snowman Ornament

When I made the monster blanket, I had a lot of scraps leftover so I tucked them away until I had a use for them and that time is now.

I wanted to make a gingerbread man ornament, but I had some white scraps and decided to make a snowman too.

My attempts at making a gingerbread man didn’t work, because I can’t draw very well. My first template was too fat and my second was too skinny. I decided to wait until I could borrow a cookie cutter to use as a template.

But even I can’t mess up circles so I went ahead and made the snowman.

Cut out 3 circles from white felt (real felt or felted sweater scraps. You could even use foam if you want, although if you use foam you might want to use hot glue instead of sewing), each a little smaller than the last. Also cut out a top hat shape from black felt.

Slightly overlap your pieces and see where you want the eyes to be. Sew buttons there using thread that matches the buttons. See where you want the buttons for the chest to be and sew them in place.

Cut out a teeny orange triangle and sew it to the face using orange thread.

Sew the top hat to the head using black thread.

Sew the circles together using white/cream thread.

You’ll also need something to hang it on the tree with. I may just stab the top hat with an ornament hook but sewing matching ribbon to the hat would work too.