spinning · Yarn

Big Chunky Spun Yarn!

I like my new electric spinning wheel so far, but I am still figuring some things out.

So when the yarn I was spinning broke, and my attempts to reattach it repeatedly did not work (every time I would unwind yarn to overlap it, the yarn lost all twist and was not strong enough to wind on to the bobbin) I decided to take a break.

I put a new bobbin on the wheel and got out some fiber that I finished spinning on my green drop spindle early 2022.

I don’t remember when I started spinning this fiber. I don’t remember how many ounces it was.

I do know that it is a Corriedale cross bred, and that I got it at the Smokey Mountain Spinnery. I know that I purchased it October 18, 2010 (Fall break my sophopmore year in college. Probably the same trip when certain people put a leaf in my purse. You know who you are.) I know it cost $7, and I also bought an Interweave Knits magazine the same day.

When I wound it off the spindle, it broke apart in some weak spots, so I had 5 mini skeins. I wound them up on my new ball winder that I got at an estate sale for $2.50.

I decided to make a 3 ply yarn, since I have never done that before. I think I did pretty good in portioning out the yarn for 3 ply. I only had to cut it twice when I started running out of one ply.

The yarn is so big and chunky! I love it.

2 thoughts on “Big Chunky Spun Yarn!

Leave a comment