Fiber Festival

Yesterday my parents and I went to a fiber festival in Georgetown.

We got to see a small variety of fiber bearing animals, such as this alpaca who grunted a lot.

We also got to see double weaving, which looked like it would require too much focus and concentration for me to enjoy.

(This is possibly the same alpaca, or it might be the other one, I’m not sure.)

This is a sheep who made weird sounding noises, which I mimicked; the other people there probably thought I was strange…

We also got to see a sheep being sheared, and this is all its wool. The sheep was squirming around a lot, making it difficult for the Shearer to shear.

This is an English Angora rabbit, and it was very soft. I got some fiber from it blended with some alpaca, and after I’ve spun it (in about 4 years or so) I’ll make a hat. It’s gray with pink, and very pretty.

After the festival, we went to Cumberland Mountain State Park, because it was on the way home. This is a bridge there.

I took a picture of our shadows, because that’s fun.

I got some red lamb’s pride to make my dad a felted hat, and I got some green lamb’s pride to make myself a Talia.

One thought on “Fiber Festival

  1. I really enjoyed our trip to this fiber festival. The weather was perfect and it really wasn’t that far away. I hope they have it again next year. I am glad you have such an interesting hobby.

Leave a Reply

