Summer Summer Fall

The fair was a couple of weeks ago, and I entered some of my knitted things and won!

Baby set- cap, sacque or sweater, and booties. Won 2nd place. I forgot to take a picture of the hat, and I already gave the set away.

Doily, didn’t win.

Scarf, didn’t win. I don’t want to sound whiny, but I really don’t understand how they judge the scarves. Last year the first and second place scarves were the exact same cable pattern. And my entrelac scarf, and another really cool looking scarf didn’t win. I don’t really get it, but it’s no big deal, because I won plenty of other things.

Socks, won first place.

Sweater, won first place.

Stole or wrap, won 3rd place.

Lady’s skirt, didn’t win, but I didn’t expect it to.

Hat, won 3rd place. Pattern is Escargot.

Toy, won 2nd place. I did weave in the ends before entering it, but this is the only picture that I have. Pattern is Big Snowy Owl.

Baby booties, didn’t win.

I entered a total of 10 items and won 6 ribbons- 2 first, 2 second, and 2 third, which is pretty good in my opinion. I won a total of $36, which is I believe the most I’ve won at the fair, even more than the year that I got best of show for my pea coat.

Unrelated to the fair, I am totally loving the slightly cooler weather that we’re having right now. Okay, it’s still pretty warm (85 right now) but compared to the murderously hot 100 degree days that we had back in June, 85 feels amazing. When I take walks in the evening, it’s kinda cool. Not quite cool enough to wear a jacket, but still kinda cool. And he other day, in the morning, I was outside reading, and I had to alternate between the shade and the sun, because it was kinda chilly in the shade. I’m calling this time of year summer summer fall, kinda like north-northwest, ya know? It’s not quite summer-fall, but it’s no longer full-blown summer, so it’s summer summer fall.

School starts back on Monday, and I guess I’m ready. I’m taking 12 hours: Advanced Nutrition, Intro to Sociology, Intro the Theater, First Aid, and Professional Development somethingorother.

I had an interview at a fast food restaurant last week, and I’m going to call them back this afternoon to follow-up. I’m not sure if I’ll get the job, because the manager said that she needed someone on Mondays, which is my busiest day, and I’m not really looking forward to filling out more applications if I don’t. If just feels like a waste of time to fill out a gazillion applications and not even get called back for an interview.

I’m making a Versatility right now, and I’m more than halfway done.

Also, the calico is a cutie pie.

One thought on “Summer Summer Fall

  1. I love all your knitted items, but I think my favorite this year was the baby set. Congrats on your wins. Even if you don’t win, you have the knitted item that you can use.

Leave a Reply

