Cria

The day before Christmas Eve, I started knitting Cria, and last Friday I finished it.

Pattern: Cria

Needles: US size 4

Yarn: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Sport

Color: Blossom Heather

I took this picture on accident, I was setting up the camera and took the picture without setting the self timer, so it took right away.

Modifications: obviously, I made it as a pullover instead of a cardigan. I started knitting the pattern as written, but when I got to the row where, as written you would switch to stockinette stitch, I instead started knitting in the round. I held the first 7 stitches on a needle out of the wat, then when I got to the last 7 stitches of the round, I knit the two stitches together, kinda like a 3 needle bind off, but just knitting, not binding off. I also just did a k2tog, yo buttonhole, because I had trouble understanding the buttonhole as written. I knit it in size 30, which is one size smaller than I actually needed, because my stitch gauge was a little big. I also made the sleeves closer fitting, because they were huge on me as written. My row gauge was a little too small, so for the yoke, I added in a few rows (I think 2) in order to make up for that, and for the body and sleeves, I just knit until it was long enough. I added a little more shaping than the pattern called for (I think I did 3 decrease rounds, decreasing 4 sts per round, then after a few inches, did 13 increase rows). I also knit the bottom garter stitch band in two pieces, front and back.

I quite like it. I wore it on Sunday with a skirt, but I also think it works well with jeans too.

The buttons were my Grandma’s; I have, like, 150 of them.

Here are a few pictures that I took last night after I took a walk (after supper! Isn’t it exciting that it’s still sorta daylight at 5:10?)

The moon. I had to have it kinda off-center, because there was a street light near by and I didn’t want it in the picture.

Residual sunset lightening our backyard. I think this might be what my dad refers to as “dusky dark.”

My class tomorrow is canceled, which is exciting. I need to study though, I’ve been kinda lazy here of late.

2 thoughts on “Cria

Leave a Reply

