I’m Thinking About Knitting…

So the other day I was thinking about what to do with my six skeins of Lion Brand Cashmere Blend that I got at Big Lots a few months agoo for $3 a skein. Since I have less than 600 yards, I knew that I wouldn’t have enough to make a sweater. a while back I thought about making Peaks Island Hood, but I’m not really sure how often I’d wear something like that. Then there’s the issue with the color. It’s bright red. Obnoxiously bright red. Almost neon red, if there’s even such a thing. So I’m probably going to have to dye it in order for me to be left with a color that’s actually pretty. I’m thinking one of three things: 1.) dye it with a little bit of black, in hopes of making it burgundy, 2.) Dying it with a little bit of blue, in hopes of making it purpleish, 3.) dying it with Black Cherry Kool-aid, in hopes of making it darker. The thing is, I’m not sure if any of these meathods will produce the desired effect and I don’t want to make the yarn worse. However, I did find a pattern that I think would make good use of the yarn: Tubey.  Since it’s striped, I’ll be able to use all of the cashmere blend and use up some other loose skeins of wool that I have lying around. Lke pink, white, and cream. I just don’t know what to do for the stripe pattern. I could leave the red yarn as is and hope that the other colors tone it down a little, but I’m not sure if that’ll work. I think light gray might look good with the red once I darken it down; I have some cream yarn that I was able to unravel from the back and sleeves of a sweater I got at goodwill (the fronts had been steeked, grr), and I could dye it with a little bit of black to get gray. Then there’s the shape of the sweater itsself; it comes down too low for me to want to wear it as is, I’d either have to find out a way to make the neckline higher or always wear a t-shirt under it.

I’m working on a new pair of socks, Glynis from sock Innovation.I’ve finished the first one, and I’m on the heel flap of the second.

Leave a Reply

