I Wanna Knit That!

Yesterday I decided to go yarn scouting. I didn’t really have anything in mind that I wanted to buy, but I wanted to look around. So, armed with my gift certificate to the Yarn Company, seven dollars, and a 40% off Hobby Lobby coupon, I set out. I looked around at Hobby Lobby, but there wasn’t anything that said “BUY ME NOW!” I saw some crochet cotton that I thought about getting to make the Wisper Cardigan, but I didn’t get it because 1) I have enough stuff on my plate, 2) I wasn’t entirely sure how much I’d need, and 3) I wasn’t really sure if it was the right weight. Next I went to The Yarn Company. I looked around (and around and around) but once again, nothing that I really wanted to get. However, I looked through some of the magazines that they have, and decided to buy the Spring 2007 issue of Interweave Knits. Since it was a few years old, she said that she’d only charge me $2 for it, which was nice. After getting home, I noticed that it had the Dollar And A Half Cardigan in it. And I thought to myself “That’s really cute. I’d like to make that.” And then, as I was wondering what color to eventually make it in (I was leaning towards yellow), I remembered that I had some red yarn that I unraveled from a sweater that I got at Goodwill for 99 cents on the last Sunday of spring break. I even took a picture of it.

It’s the same kind of sweater that I used to make my Owls sweater, only this one was a size XS instead of a medium, and, obviously, it’s red. It’s 50% wool and 50% acrylic. I still need to simmer it to get the waviness out, but I did a swatch yesterday.

That’s the lace portion at the bottom and I did both stockinette and reverse stockinette stitch above it because I’m not sure which will look better.

I’ve done a little bit more knitting on the supper secret something, but I had to go back a few rows because I messed up on it. I’ll hopefully finish it within a week after I get back from the mentoring trip. I’m also going to start to body of Vivian when I get back too.

Leave a Reply

