Calico

So, before I start rambling, I’ll make an outline of what I’m going to talk about.

I. Cat

II. Knitting

A. Sweater

B. Socks

III. Yarn

IV. Sewing

A. Quilt

B. Dress

V. School

A. Speech

B. Other classes

VI. Spring break

VII. My to-do list

I. Cat

So, a few weeks ago, there was a calico on our porch. everyone went out to pet her and she purred, but she was kinda plump, so we assumed that she belonged to someone. Then last Friday, Dad and I were doing yard work and she came over and let us pet her. Or rather, banged her head against my hand while I was picking up rocks. Dad talked to our neighbors, and apparently, they had been the one feeding her, but  she wasn’t their cat, so she really didn’t belong to anyone. So Sunday night, we brought her in and washed her up, and now she’s ours.

She went to the vet on Wednesday to get spayed, so she’s not feeling wonderful, but she is feeling better than she was feeling. Quigley doesn’t really like her right now, but I think that they’ll become friends soon. I wanted to name her Shambala, but nobody else liked that name.

II. Knitting

A. Sweater

I’ve knit both sleeves on the sweater and I am currently working on the decreases of the body.

This is the most recent picture.

B. Socks

I’m getting close to being finished with these. I’m on the 8th cable repeat. I tried them on, and they are super tight.

Like, really really tight. I did calve increases, I promise! But apparently not enough. It’s okay though, because they’ll stretch out a little bit.

Since I’m pretty much only working on these during our break in Biology, I probably won’t get them done before the end of the semester. It’s okay though, because I will most likely have them finished by next winter, so I’ll have another pair of warm socks to wear then. I might be able to wear these on top of navy blue tights with my navy blue skirt, so that at least my calves will be warm on Sundays.

III. Yarn

A few Fridays back I went to Big Lots and bought 6 skeins of Lion Brand Cashmere Blend. It’s bright red, which I don’t think will look good on me, so I’m considering dying it either a.) with a little bit of blue to make it slightly marron/purple or b.) with Black cherry kool-aid to make it kinda burgundy. I don’t really know what to make with it yet. My first thought was Peaks Island Hood, but I don’t really know if I would still be sane after doing that much seed stitch. My second thought was Mrs. Darcy Cardigan, but I have less than 600 yards, and the pattern calls for 900. I know that several of the projects used less than what the pattern called for, but I really don’t want to start something only to find out that I don’t have enough yarn.

Well, I’m going to take a break and eat lunch (at 3:00… I didn’t wake up until 10:00 this morning. What’s worse is the fact that the time changes this weekend.ug.) and I’ll finish up my outline later. Maybe.

One thought on “Calico

Leave a Reply

