Another Post About my Week

On Friday I went to a fiber festival. We got there about an hour before it was over, so we didn’t have to pay. I got a spindle! It’s pretty. I already used up the practice roving, but it’s not very good. I’m going to practice some more on some fiberfill. Does anyone know of a website that sells inexpensive roving? I’d like to practice on something cheap, instead of mangling something expensive.

On Saturday Mom and I planted corn and Dad and I planted my carrots and cilantro. I also did a little bit of spinning and reading, and I gave Quigley a bath.

My birthday is on Wednesday! Yay! And I only have 9 more days of classes before exam week! I’m so so ready or the semester to be over with.

I have a few ideas for ka-nitting, but these are semi-good ideas, so I won’t talk about them in case I actually knit them and submit them to Knitty. I will say that one will require wool and the other will require a cotton blend.

I think I’m going to make a list of things that I would like to buy, so that when I acquire money (from saving, birthday, or if I get a job over the summer) I won’t be sitting there thinking “now, what did I want to buy?”

  • Enough Fisherman’s Woolfor my pea coat. This will probably be about 6 skeins, because I would like pockets. And maybe a hood, but that would probably require an extra skein. Depending on sale prices and coupons, anywhere from $32.40 to $54.
  • The pattern for my pea coat. $7.
  • Enough yarn for Pioneer. I’ll either use Knitpicks Shine Sport or Yarn Bee Snowflake. ‘Bout $20 either way.
  • A brown leather belt. I have my eye on a few. This one’s $14.95 and these two are each $29.50, which I think is just a little bit expensive.
  • A wallet. $15.
  • A new pair (or two) of the best flip flops in existence. I got some last year and I wore them all the time, but they broke after a short life of only 3 months. I thought that they didn’t make them anymore, but they do. $6.50
  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. $9.71

Plus a whole bunch of other stuff, such as music Cd’s, roving, random skeins of yarn, and the like. I guess I should start on my homework or do laundry. Bye.

5 thoughts on “Another Post About my Week

  1. Nine more days of classes? Wow, this semester has flown. And you may get some cancellations between now and then. Is Catching Fire a book? What is it about? Your birthday is on Wednesday. We will be celebrating through the weekend. Do you know where you want to go out to eat? I like your list.

    • Yes, Catching Fire is a book. Do you remember me reading a book called The Hunger Games over spring break? Catching Fire is the sequal to that. But it doesn’t come out until September. I don’t know where I want to eat yet.

  2. beware! money seems to be on short supply these days.

    that is soooo coool! There are no fiber conventions out here, and beats me why, since Portland is like a knitting kingdom or something! (miniture, of course) Oh well.

Leave a Reply

