Uncategorized

On the needles…

I don’t know if there’s a name for it, but I seem to have this knitter’s disease. I can’t knit one thing at a time. I always have four or five, at the very least three, projects going at the same time. Let me start with the most recent projects

  • A smockish shirt thing that I just made up. No pattern,so I don’t know how it will turn out. It’s cotton and hot pink. Well, maybe not quite hot pink, but bright pink.
  • Cinderella. Except, it doesn’t look anything like the picture in the pattern. I’m using the brand of wool called for in the pattern, only in dark red. I’m almost done with the first one.
  • Sonnet. In light blue Red Heart acrylic. The only thing is, I didn’t measure my gague properly, so it’s too big. I’m going to try to adjust it so that it isn’t enormous.

I also have a few projects that I started and probably won’t ever finish

  • A garter-stitch scarf that I started in 5th grade when I first learned how to knit. I doubt I’ll ever finish it because it’s not that pretty.
  • A washcloth. Cotton, of course, and navy blue. I’m probably a little less than halfway done with it, but I have more importhant things to knit.
  • A the second of a pair of thigh warmers that I was working on a while back. I doubt I’ll ever finish it because how useful are thigh warmers anyway? Although it did seem like a good idea at the time.
  • A felted clutch made of mitered squares sewn together. Made with the wool that I dyed and some green wool that I did not dye. The only reason that I started this was becauseI didn’t have anything else to do on the way back from Inspire. I do think I might finish this someday, after I’ve knit everything else that I want to knit. And after I find my size 8 dpns.
  • A sock that I was making from sock yarn with a pattern. They turned out to be too big. I haven’t actually ripped it out yet, but I took out the needles to knit something else.
  • The sweater that I started on my knitting machine for my dad. I turned out to be waaay to big, so I’ll probably need to rip it out and start all over. But I should finish it, because he paid for the yarn.

And, of course, I must list the things that I want to knit but haven’t actually started yet.

  • A felted blanket/mat for Mrs. Quigley. She is my new kitten! I think that felting whatever I make for her will be good so that her claws won’t get caught in the stitches. I’ll probably use the two skeins of Caron Felt-It (Rose Garden) that I used for the purse I felted.
  • This sweater, which I would love to knit with this yarn. The only problem is, the pattern calls for 900 yards and I only have about 656 yards of the purple and 131 of the pink. So even if I used them both, withthe pink as an edging orsomething, I would still be 112 yards short. Which really stinks, because I wouldn’t want to knit the sweater with wool, and I can’t think of something else to use the yarn for.
  • A ponch-type sweater made with 3 shades of blue wool. I don’t have this yarn yet, because I’m either going to make this or the one above. And i haven’t exactly figured out the pattern yet. But I can see it in myhead and it looks pretty good.
  • Gloves, mittens, or a scarf made with the grayish wool-ease that I got the other day.
  • Gloves or a pair of socks that actually fit me made with the sock yarn mentioned above.
  • And a bunch of other stuff made with all my other yarns.